November Planner: Tune My Heart

Have you ever played an instrument that requires tuning? If you have, then you know how quickly it can become out of tune. During the short season that is summer in Minnesota, my violin reminds me that, yes, it is in fact over 15 degrees outside. I tune each of the four strings on my violin, carefully listening to each note, and once I’ve tuned all four, I make sure they are all still in tune. In the summer humidity, the first string is usually out of tune by the time I’ve finished tuning the last one. My violin needs constant tuning during those months. In the same way, my heart is in continual need of tuning each day. My sin-bent, self-centered, pride-filled heart needs tuning by the Holy Spirit to bring God glory. On my own, I easily focus in on my desires, my own concerns, and my own agenda.

Over the past few weeks, I’ve had the song “Come Thou Fount” on repeat. The line, “tune my heart to sing Thy grace” always stands out to me. I have actually been praying that exact phrase multiple times throughout the day as I realize my need for God’s grace to align my heart with His. As I’ve prayed and thought about what November’s theme should be, I landed on that song – “Come Thou Fount.” The hymn was written by Robert Robinson at the age of 22 in the year 1757. This song is so rich with gospel truths, and I hope that it will keep our hearts fixed on the gospel again this month.

As we sit down with November’s planner and begin to fill it out, let’s ask the Holy Spirit to tune our hearts. Let’s pray that our goals and plans for the coming month would be gospel-saturated, Bible-centered, and God-glorifying. Then as we go throughout our month, may we continue to pray that prayer. I so quickly fall back into the mentality that my relationship with Christ is a duty rather than seeing it as a delight. I am in constant need of tuning each and every day. The glorious truth of the gospel is that we are given mercy and grace… “streams of mercy, never ceasing, call for songs of loudest praise.” I love the last verse of the song (which is on the last page of your planner). It looks to that day when we will meet Christ, face-to-face. On that day we will be free from sinning because of what Christ accomplished for us on the cross. Then, with our gaze transfixed on His face, we will worship our King for endless days.

Click here if you would like to download your copy of the planner to print.

Click here if you would like to listen to one of my favorite recordings of this hymn sung by The Village Church.

Click here if you would like to read an article about the hymn written by Marshall Segal for Desiring God.

Leave a Reply

