Be Jesus, My Glory, My Soul Satisfy

IMG_0345_Fotor

Comparison. Discontentment. Whatever word you use, it’s something I believe we all struggle with. I know I do. I have always struggled with it and have tried to fight it for years. These past few months I’ve really been fighting with discontentment. I find myself looking at Facebook, Instagram, and Pinterest and thoughts such as “I wish I could look like this” or “I wish I could create things like that” quickly flood my mind. I see pictures from mommas with their little ones and start wishing I was a momma. Funny thing is, before I started dating Andrew, all I wished for was to be dating him. As soon as we were dating, I just couldn’t wait to be engaged. And then of course, once we were engaged I just wanted to be married. All of this is obviously natural, but the problem is that I thought in each of those phases, that the next phase would bring me complete satisfaction. That I wouldn’t want anything else once I was in that next phase. Well, here I am. I’ve been a girlfriend, a fiancé, and now a wife. And I’m already dreaming about being a momma.

So why is it that I struggle so much with this? Why do we all struggle with this? I believe it’s something deeper than just being discontent. I know that my real struggle is being satisfied in Christ. The truth is, trying to be satisfied in anything else (a relationship, a job, a phase of life, or your abilities) can never fulfill you. And I’ve heard this truth my whole life. Yet, I so easily forget it. I am so prone to look to earthly pleasures, and they’re not all bad things, but they’re not Christ. Christ, the all-fulfilling, all-satisfying One. The One who has paid the ultimate sacrifice to give us the one thing we need: redemption. Isaiah 53:4-6 says this, “Surely He has borne our griefs and carried our sorrows; yet we esteemed Him stricken, smitten by God, and afflicted. But He was pierced for our transgressions; He was crushed for our iniquities; upon Him was the chastisement that brought us peace, and with His wounds we are healed. All we like sheep have gone astray; we have turned—every one—to his own way; and the LORD has laid on Him the iniquity of us all.” Christ, the perfect One, took our iniquity (our sin) and endured the wrath of God that you and I deserve. Then in return, He gives us salvation. He grants us forgiveness. Because of what Christ did on the cross, we can have eternal life. You see, because of this exchange, we are offered all that we need. We are given the ultimate gift of redemption and right standing with God. In Christ we find our complete satisfaction.

But what does this look like in our day-to-day lives? I know for myself, it’s something I have to remind myself of everyday. By spending time alone with God each day, filling my heart with His Word and praying. Praying that God would give me grace in looking to Him for satisfaction. That He would remind me when I start to look to other people or other things for that satisfaction. Often times it takes that idol in my life to fail in some way, for me to realize I’m not looking to Christ. It takes having a disagreement with my husband or a blow to my pride to wake me up. Praise God for His abundant mercy and grace, though, in forgiving us for our weaknesses. What a Savior we have. I fail Him daily, yet He loves me still. Psalm 73:26 is a beautiful promise of this. The Psalmist writes, “My flesh and my heart may fail, but God is the strength of my heart and my portion forever.”

I don’t write any of this to say that I’ve got this down. By no means. I daily struggle with this. I believe we all do to some degree or another. As I’ve really been struggling with this lately, however, I have been thinking more and more about what a beautiful truth it is that Christ satisfies. We have the answer. We know the truth. I pray that you and I would look to the cross and to our Savior daily. And that it would be in Him that we find our satisfaction.

The added chorus to this well known hymn is such a sweet reminder to me. Here is the song:

Another song that reminds me of these truth is this:

“God is most glorified in us when we are most satisfied in Him.” – John Piper

One Comment Add yours

  1. Aisha says:

    I love love this post, Heather! You are a 100% correct, we all struggle with this! Thank you for writing this!! Xoxo

Leave a Reply

